Our Next

Sunday, April 26, 2015 at 4 p.m. - Grosse Pointe Unitarian Church - 17150 Maumee, Grosse Pointe 48230


Chamber Music at the Scarab Club will present the debut performance of OPERA WINDS, a wind quintet featuring the principal wind players of the Michigan Opera Theatre Orchestra. They will perform a wonderfully diverse program with music by Samuel Barber, György Ligeti, John Rutter, Anton Reicha and Rogers and Hammerstein.

Summer Music - Samuel Barber (1910-1981)
Six Bagatelles - György Ligeti (1923-2006)
Three American Miniatures for Flute and Clarinet - John Rutter (b. 1945)
Wind Quintet in F minor, Op. 99, No. 2 - Anton Reicha (1770-1836)
Selections from 'The Sound of Music' - Rogers (1902-1979) and Hammerstein (1895-1960) arranged by Bill Holcombe

Amanda Sparfeld - flute
Nermis Mieses - oboe
Brian Bowman - clarinet
Roger Maki-Schramm - bassoon
Andrew Pelletier - horn

Chamber Music at the Scarab Club will continue its 17th season on Sunday, April 26th at the Grosse Pointe Unitarian Church with another exciting program that chamber music lovers will definitely not want to miss! The quintet Opera Winds was recently formed by wind principals who loved playing together in the Michigan Opera Theatre Orchestra. CMSC is honored that these outstanding musicians are performing their first concert as a quintet on this series!

The program has something for everyone! Samuel Barber's Summer Music was written in 1956 for the Chamber Music Society of Detroit and had its premiere performance at the DIA.

Six Bagatelles by Ligeti was composed in 1953 and reflects his economical approach: a minimum number of notes are used to maximum effect. These are moving and accessible chamber music pieces that explore both the expressive and purely musical potential of a limited amount of material.

The well-known American choral composer John Rutter wrote Three American Miniatures in 1981. It is in three movements and will feature flutist Amanda Sparfeld and clarinetist Brian Bowman.

Czech-born composer Anton Reicha wrote his Wind Quintet in F minor in Paris in 1819. Reicha was a contemporary and lifelong friend of Beethoven and is remembered for his substantial early contributions to the wind quintet literature. He is also known for his famous pupils, including Franz Liszt, Hector Berlioz and Cesar Franck.

The final piece on the program, Selections from The Sound of Music by Rogers and Hammerstein, need no introduction and are being performed in celebration the 50 year anniversary of The Sound of Music film!

As always each piece will be introduced by one of the musicians and the performance will be followed by a delicious and friendly reception.

Home   Concerts   Background   Directors   Contact and  Ticket Info   Media   Acknowledgements 

Copyright © 2003-2011, Chamber Music at the Scarab Club, All Rights Reserved


For more info about all of our events: (248) 474-8930 chambermusic@scarabclub.org